Home > Books > Alas! National Book Week has Come and Gone

Alas! National Book Week has Come and Gone

How embarrassing!

Its 3pm in the afternoon and while browsing through today’s paper, I happened upon Steven’s Window, a weekly column in the Weekender edition of The National Newspaper that I regularly follow. Its then I realize that this week was the National Book Week.  Notice the usage of the past tense as I just can not get myself to refer to it in the present tense. Perhaps out of the guilt tugging inside of me for being this forgetful. The first week of August every year usually is the national book week.

Given what HT stands for, this is just unacceptable to not mention “books” on the occasion of  the National Book Week. Perhaps this post may redeem me from this guilt. So here I shall pen this down in RED to remember this week next year.

Anyway, I guess it would have been appropriate to do up a book review or a bio-focus on an author perhaps.

But I certainly would NOT have written about the Governor General, Grand Chief Sir Paulias Matane because my perception of him has somewhat changed in light of  developments within the political arena of Papua New Guinea of recent times. I do not discount the fact that he has accomplished a lot by contributing to PNG Literature with 42 books, endless good deeds and sage words. What have I, a simple blogger to show but a measly 446 hits (on last count) in my attempt to join in the stampede of mad rush for information.

But I stand by my word.

Stand by your gun and Walk the Talk or Pack up and hit the road(, Jack!). Practice what you preach or else save your lip service and watch me put my money where my mouth is

If you want to read more about Matane and his endless work in promoting the book culture, You can find it here at Steven’s Window.

Seems I still have a long way to go in redeeming myself. 😦

::end::

  1. Jill Tumes
    March 4, 2011 at 21:57

    Can you tell me the dates of National Book Week this year – 2011? We don’t want to miss it this year either! Our school, Sunrise Bethel Christian School opened in Port Moresby last year. We celebrated a Book Week of our own as we had difficulty obtaining information about the PNG theme and dates in advance. Can you point us in the right direction (phone numbers or addresses) so that we can plan well in advance this year.

    • Nichson
      March 5, 2011 at 11:39

      Hi Jill,
      Usually its the first week of August every year. Congratulations on the opening of Sunrise Bethel Christian School. You can call up the Education Department on 301 3555 to find the exact details on this event.
      And thanks for the visit.
      Cheers

  2. joshua
    November 12, 2012 at 20:21

    Can you tell the specific date of the national book week?

    • March 21, 2013 at 09:55

      I think it falls in the 2nd week of August.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

